Strawberry Cheesecake Bites

I’ll be upfront with you: I’m making this post because I took a pretty picture of my mini-cheesecake and now I feel like a pro.

cheesecake

But just look at this thing! It’s got all the right texture, and definitely the right taste – it’s a cheesecake made in heaven, crying out to be devoured for a quick, fat-rich breakfast.

Ever since starting my Ketogenic journey, I’ve been avidly following I Breathe I’m Hungry as a great resource for recipes and inspiration.

I have always loved cheesecake; for my birthday each year, I would go to my dad’s house and use his Kitchenaid mixer and his springform pans to make my own birthday cheesecake. It was a delightful tradition, but I always thought you needed a springform pan to make a cheesecake, and I make cheesecake so seldom that I couldn’t justify buying one.

Enter Keto.

I’ve been ‘meaning’ to make cheesecake forever, and simply hadn’t gotten around to it by the time I tried cheesecake bites the week before last.

Originally, I just followed IBIH’s recipe with no alteration, but this time I made it strawberry flavored – next time, I think I’ll even do an almond flour crust, or maybe try coconut flavor with unsweetened flaked coconut in it!

Adapted recipe below the cut, with all credit to I Breathe I’m Hungry.

Adapted from the amazing ‘I Breathe I’m Hungry‘ recipe listed here:

Here’s the recipe from that page, with some modifications:

INGREDIENTS
For the cheesecakes:
8 oz cream cheese, softened
2 Tbsp butter
3 eggs
3 Tbsp HWC (subbed for the cold brew coffee in the original, to keep fluid proportions right)
1 Tbsp sugar free Torani syrup
⅓ cup granulated sugar substitute (Swerve, Splenda, Ideal, etc)

For the frosting:
3 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened
3 Tbsp sugar free Torani syrup
2 Tbsp granulated sugar substitute (Swerve, Splenda, Ideal, etc)
8oz cream cheese, softened (supposed to be mascarpone, couldn’t find it)
Splash of lemon juice (for tangy flavor – I was worried it might break, but it did not!)

INSTRUCTIONS
For the cheesecakes:
Shove all ingredients in a blender, and puree that son’ve a gun until it’s smooth as silk; then, pour into silicone molds. Original recipe lists it as 9, I got ten out of it – I might have pureed too long! Baked at 350 degrees for fifteen minutes.

For the frosting:
Throw all the ingredients in a mixer, whip it good; original recipe says to mix at low speed or it will break, I just kind of did stuff and it came out fine – though less pretty than the original!

Leave a Reply

