Post Thanksgiving

Wowwww Thanksgiving was awesome!

The low-carb options came out phenomenal, though I’ll admit that the broccoli and deviled eggs didn’t make it to our spread; the non-low-carb options were ALSO phenomenal, which is unfortunate for my ‘being in ketosis’.

Thanksgiving’s planned ‘cheat’ lasted a bit longer than intended, as we definitely got too many potatoes, and … RJ left me high and dry, saying he didn’t really like regular mashed potatoes anymore and would have preferred caulimash. Are you kidding me?? That’s incredible, but that meant all the potatoes went into me instead of being split. I should’ve gone ahead and purged them the night of, but they were sooo good.

The turkey was AWESOME. I made RJ do it, when he told me he’d never actually cleaned out the turkey before. I realized that I’ve always been the one to handle turkey things, so I made him do each part so that he could have that experience – though I was happy to keep him company and help chop the stuff that went in the hole and mix the herbed butter. The recipe called for an entire bottle of champagne poured over/into it, which was interesting? I liked the resulting gravy, he did not. We’ll omit that part next time, I hate opening champagne anyway, it scares the bejeezus out’ve me.

Like a schlub, I didn’t take any pictures of the spread, but I do have some pictures of my cranberry sauce, which came out SO good and was gorgeous to take pictures of!!

This week’s plan makes liberal use of Thanksgiving leftovers, nothing super adventurous, unfortunately. I did discover a new kind of Keto bread I’d like to try, though – I ordered a muffin top pan to use. Once it comes in, if I’m up to it, I’ll give it a go. 🙂

All that said, here’s the plan for this week!

Non-Dinner Cooking:

Week’s plan:

  • Sunday
  • Monday
    • Leftover Roast from last week
    • Fried Eggs
    • Cauliflower Grits
      • Basically cauliflower mash but less cream cheese, rougher consistency
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
    • RJ’s going to surprise us
    • If he’s too tired for whatever reason, we have sausage nuggets in the freezer
  • Thursday
    • RJ’s Chicken Tenders
      • Spiced and then pan-fried in coconut oil
  • Friday
  • Saturday
    • Office Christmas Party
      • This is a super fancy occasion and we’re going to eat carbs; it sucks that it’s so close to Thanksgiving, but I LOVE trying new things, I know right now that if I am not ‘allowed’ to eat the very fancy food I will be resentful. Keto is our lifestyle, not a prison.
Leave a Reply

